09 Jul 2013 19:46

Final schedule for the ceremonies for the abdication of King Albert II and the swearing-in of the future King Philippe

The final schedule for the ceremonies has now been drawn up, following the latest meeting of the 21 July Task Force.

The following events will take place successively on 21 July:

  • 9.00 a.m.      Te Deum at the Cathedral of St Michael and St Gudula in Brussels
  • 10.30 a.m.    Abdication ceremony of King Albert II at the Royal Palace in Brussels
  • 12 noon         King Philippe is sworn in before the two chambers of the Belgian federal parliament at the Palace of the Nation. The cannon will be fired as soon as the new King has taken his oath
  • 1.00 p.m.     The new King and Queen and the Royal Family greet the population from the balcony of the Royal Palace on Place des Palais
  • 2.10 p.m.     The new King pays homage to the Unknown Soldier at the Congress Column
  • 4.05 p.m.      King Philippe reviews the civil and military troops
  • 5.00 p.m.      Civil and military parade on Place des Palais (guests invited to sit in the stands will be able to take their places between 2.45 p.m. and 4.15 p.m.)
  • 7.00 p.m.      The new King and Queen attend the celebrations in the Parc de Bruxelles
  • 11.00 p.m.     The Royal Family watches the firework display that will be launched from the Palace of the Academies on Place des Palais

The 21 July Task Force is responsible for coordinating the ceremonies' organisation. The task force is made up of representatives of the Chamber of Representatives, the Senate, the Royal Palace, the relevant ministers, FPS Interior, FPS Foreign Affairs, FPS Defence and FPS Justice, and is chaired by FPS Chancellery of the Prime Minister.

For more information, contact:
Sarah Delafortrie
FPS Chancellery of the Prime Minister – Directorate-General for External Communication
T: +32 287 41 07
M: +32 486 35 78 88